Sunday, April 28, 2013

The Winnowing Season by Cindy Woodsmall

  • Paperback: 336 pages
  • Publisher: WaterBrook Press (April 2, 2013)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0307730042
  • ISBN-13: 978-0307730046

This book is also available as an e-book.

The tornado that devastated Kings’ Orchard pushed Rhoda, Samuel, and Jacob to make a new start in Maine. Are they strong enough to withstand the challenges of establishing an Amish community—and brave enough to face the secrets that move with them?
On the eve of their departure to begin a new Old Order Amish community outside of Unity, Maine, Rhoda Byler is shocked to discover that choices made by her business partner and friend, Samuel King, have placed her and her unusual gifts directly into the path of her district’s bishop and preachers. She is furious with Samuel and is fearful that the Kings will be influenced by the way her leaders see her, and not what they know to be true—that Rhoda’s intuition is a gift from God.
Jacob King won’t be swayed by community speculation. He loves Rhoda, believes in her, and wants to build a future with her in Maine. But when the ghosts of his past come calling and require him to fulfill a great debt, can he shake their hold before it destroys what he has with Rhoda? Samuel has a secret of his own—one he’ll go to great lengths to keep hidden, even if it means alienating those closest to him. Throwing himself into rehabilitating the once-abandoned orchard, Samuel turns to a surprising new ally.
Book 2 of the Amish Vines and Orchards series asks: can the three faithfully follow God’s leading and build a new home and orchard in Maine? Or will this new beginning lead to more ruin and heartbreak?

My take on this book:
Rhoda Byler is a twenty-two year old Amish girl that has the unique gift of seeing into the future. Her people don't appreciate her insight and she is all but shunned. She is courting Jacob King with whom she helps run an apple orchard with. When a tornado strikes and they are given the opportunity to move to Maine to start over with an abandoned orchard Rhoda hopes that this new beginning might be just what she needs. 
"The Winnowing Season" is the second book in the Amish Vines and Orchards series but can easily be read as a stand alone work, I haven't read the first book in the series but the author provides plenty of information so that I knew what was going on, although it did take a few chapters to learn who was who. I felt like this book was a bit different than most "Amish" stories I have read because of the unique gift that Rhoda possessed. I felt like the story moved along at a brisk pace with more than a few plot twists to keep it interesting. From relationships that are teetering to lost friendships there is plenty going on with this one. My only complaint is that I have to wait for the next installment to see what happens. Fans of Cindy Woodsmall will love this story, but anyone looking for a unique "Amish" story should give this one a try. I do plan on going back and reading the first book in the series because I enjoyed this book so much. 

A complimentary copy of this book was provided in exchange for an honest review.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Your wonderful comments make my day, thanks for dropping by!