Sunday, December 30, 2012

Betrayal by Robin Lee Hatcher review with giveaway

  • Reading level: Ages 18 and up
  • Paperback: 272 pages
  • Publisher: Zondervan (November 13, 2012)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 031025809X
  • ISBN-13: 978-0310258094

This book is also available as an e-book.

November 13, 2012 Where The Heart Lives
It's the turn of the twentieth century and drifter Hugh Brennan is a man well acquainted with betrayal. Hugh finds himself drawn to the attractive widow, Julia, yet when he looks into her eyes, he recognizes the same hurt that haunts him. Julia Grace has little reason to trust men, but she's going to have to trust someone if she's to keep her ranch from the clutches of her dead husband's half-brother. Is it possible God had a hand in bringing Hugh to her door? The latest historical romance from award-winning author Robin Lee Hatcher and the second book in the Where the Heart Lives series, Betrayal will take you to the high desert of western Wyoming, through the crags of the Rocky Mountains, and into the hearts of two seekers learning to trust God's love no matter the circumstances.

My take on this book:
Julia Grace doesn't trust men, but if she is going to save her ranch she is going to have to learn to trust someone. Hugh Brennan is looking for work when he shows up at Julia's ranch. Could it be that Hugh just might be the person who will help Julia save her ranch, will she be able to put her trust in him, and does he want her too?

I am a huge fan of historical fiction and if the western setting of this story was just an added bonus. Robin Hatcher easily pulled me right into the story with an interesting plot with several twists to keep it interesting, and characters who are flawed and very realistic.  I enjoyed seeing the relationship develop between Julia and Hugh. A good clean read, that gives an inspirational message that isn't overdone, but instead, for me was just right. Fans of historical romantic fiction with an inspirational message will certainly enjoy this book.
"Betrayal" is the second book in The Heart Lives Series, but could easily be read as a stand alone work, the author provides enough information to make it easy to understand what is going on, although I read the first book and would recommend it as well. 

rating 4/5

A complimentary copy of this book was provided in exchange for an honest review.

Now on to the giveaway!

Thanks to the publisher I have "Betrayal" and "Belonging" both books in the Where The Heart Lives Series  to give to a lucky reader of my blog. 

1 comment:

  1. Both books sound wonderful! Thank you for the giveaway. Some of my favorite devotions are historicals.


Your wonderful comments make my day, thanks for dropping by!