Sunday, June 28, 2015

A Heart's Betrayal ~ Colleen Coble

A Heart's Betrayal 4

A Heart’s Betrayal (Thomas Nelson, June 2015)
Emmie finds shelter in the arms of a soldier, but her secret could drive them apart.
When Emmie Croftner answered the door to her late husband’s home, she discovered an awful truth: her deceased husband was a bigamist. And what’s more, the home she thought she inherited never belonged to her at all.
Suddenly displaced, powerless, and ashamed, Emmie can’t stay in Wabash, Indiana. She makes a hopeful start for Fort Laramie, Wyoming, to find her friend Sarah Montgomery and a new beginning. But when she arrives, she discovers she’s pregnant—and without a husband. The new start she’d hoped for slips from her fingers.
But then she meets Isaac Liddle, a handsome soldier with a kind heart. When he begins to court her, Emmie wonders whether she could ever really be his—and whether she dares to tell him she is carrying another man’s baby.

My take on this book:
 I have really enjoyed reading this series, and I think that this book A Heart's Betrayal just might be my favorite so far! When Emmie's husband is killed in an accident to say she is devastated is an understatement, but it's the life he never told her about that really shocks her to the core. She decides the only thing to do is to head west to join up with Sarah and Rand, knowing that she will never trust her heart to another again. It doesn't take long though for a kind soldier to begin to breach her defenses. Will she find the new life she is hoping for, and what sort of life will it be? 

Ms. Coble packs more than a few shocking twists within the pages of A Heart's Betrayal. Emmie's character is easy to relate to, and I couldn't imagine what life might throw at her next! I was rooting for Emmie to find some sort of happiness but couldn't help but wonder about the secret that she carried about her marriage,whether or not it would keep her from finding happiness. The ending leaves me quite anxious to read the next installment in the series! A page turning historical fiction read, that provides easy to like characters and a solid plot that moves along at a quick pace. I do recommend that this series be read in order to fully understand the backgrounds of the characters. 

Colleen Coble


USA Today bestselling author Colleen Coble has written several romantic suspense novels including “Tidewater Inn,” “Rosemary Cottage,” and the Mercy Falls, Lonestar, and Rock Harbor series.
Find out more about Colleen at

Melt into summer with a new giveaway from Colleen: four books (books one–four in Colleen's A Journey of the Heart series) and coffee to pair with your new book!

One grand prize winner will receive:

-- A copy of A Heart's Betrayal

-- A box of Colleen's favorite chocolate truffles from DeBrand Fine Chocolates

-- A copy of A Heart's Danger

-- A copy of A Heart's Disguise

-- A copy of A Heart's Obsession

Enter today by clicking here.  But hurry, the giveaway ends on June 31th. Winner will be announced July 1st on Colleen's website.

Find out what readers are saying about the book HERE.

1 comment:

  1. I have nominated you for the Sisterhood of The World Bloggers Award. Head over to my blog to see what I have gotten you into!


Your wonderful comments make my day, thanks for dropping by!