Monday, August 18, 2014

Seasons of Tomorrow~ Cindy Woodsmall

  • Series: Amish Vines and Orchards (Book 4)
  • Paperback: 336 pages
  • Publisher: WaterBrook Press (April 15, 2014)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0307729982
  • ISBN-13: 978-0307729989

This book is also available as an ebook.

As love restores Rhoda, a sudden tragedy is the test of faith she never saw coming.
More settled in her heart than ever before, Rhoda Byler feels a newfound confidence living in the Old Order Amish settlement she helped establish in Orchard Bend, Maine. Time has helped to heal the wounds of Rhoda’s recent severed relationship, and she finds that even her unusual gift of profound intuition is less of a burden as she continues to seek God’s wisdom for her future. She is happy to be working alongside the King family and the love of her life as they tend and nurture the settlement’s orchard.
Yet when Leah King’s involvement with Englischer Landon Olson becomes known outside of the Maine community, her disregard of the Ordnung could threaten all the Orchard Bend Amish are building. In the midst of addressing the discord, a shocking tragedy challenges the young settlement like never before, threatening to uproot Rhoda’s peace and the future of everything she holds dear.
When several members of Orchard Bend Farms are displaced, the estranged King brother is called upon to return. Can those who founded the new Amish community in Maine unite Or will the lingering pain of past hurts and present struggles result in the end of their dreams?

My take on this book:
I have been hooked on Cindy Woodsmall's writing for several years. There is something about the way she creates her characters allowing me to feel as if I become a part of their lives, but she doesn't make their lives perfect instead she makes them real, they have heartaches and triumphs. Seasons of Tomorrow is the fourth book in the Amish Vines and Orchards series and I really couldn't wait to reconnect with the characters, even though I was saddened because it is the final book in the series. This book begins right where the last one left off, which drew me right back to Maine into the lives of the characters. One is wondering whether she should remain Amish, Leah is really on the fence, but romance may help her decide which path to take. Samuel and Rhoda seem to be on the path to love while Jacob leaves in order to heal a broken heart. Reconnecting with familiar characters, while meeting a few new ones kept  the plot zipping along, and a few twists thrown in kept me guessing. Overall, this is a series that should really be read in order otherwise one would be lost as to the relationships between the characters. Anyone who enjoys an Amish read that just happens to have romance, life changing issues and leaves you feeling as if you are reading about real people will certainly enjoy this book and the entire series. 

A complimentary copy of this book was provided for review.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Your wonderful comments make my day, thanks for dropping by!