Monday, August 13, 2012

What Happened To My Sister by Elizabeth Flock ~ TLC Blog Tour with review

  • Paperback: 304 pages
  • Publisher: Ballantine Books (August 7, 2012)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0345524438
  • ISBN-13: 978-0345524430

This book is also available as an e-book.

From the author of Me & Emma comes a dazzling novel of two unforgettable families bound together by their deepest secrets and haunted pasts—perfect for fans of The Secret Life of CeeCee Wilkes and The Book of Bright Ideas.

Nine-year-old Carrie Parker and her mother, Libby, are making a fresh start in the small town of Hartsville, North Carolina, ready to put their turbulent past behind them. Violence has shattered their family and left Libby nearly unable to cope. And while Carrie once took comfort in her beloved sister, Emma, her mother has now forbidden even the mention of her name.

When Carrie meets Ruth, Honor, and Cricket Chaplin, these three generations of warmhearted women seem to have the loving home Carrie has always dreamed of. But as Carrie and Cricket become fast friends, neither can escape the pull of their families’ secrets—and uncovering the truth will transform the Chaplins and the Parkers forever.

My take on this book:
Caroline Parker's life with her stepfather Richard and mother Libby was far from ideal in the town of Hendersonville. So after the death of Richard, Libby decides that she and Carrie need to leave town and start over. Thing is Carrie always believed that she had a sister named Emma, but she has been told that Emma was only a part of her imagination, and her mother forbids her from talking about her ever again. Hoping for a fresh start they settle in the tiny town of Hartsville, North Carolina.

Cricket Chaplin hasn't been the same since the death of her sister, and no matter what her mother does she just can't seem to help her. When Carrie meets Cricket, they become fast friends, and Carrie finds herself not thinking about her sister as much. Was there really ever an Emma, or was she just a part of Carrie's imagination?

When I started reading this story I didn't realize it was a follow up to another  story, but honestly I was able to follow the story from the beginning without feeling to lost. The author provided enough background information that I understood what was going on, although I found myself wondering about the first book, because of the way this story opened. I was pulled in by the voice of Carrie. From the beginning my heart broke for this nine year old little girl. I enjoyed the southern twanginess and the country sayings that Carrie often used. I kept hoping that things would finally improve for her and in the end my wish was granted. Overall I read this book in one sitting, I just had to find out how things would work out for Carrie. While the author wraps the ending up nicely I would love to see more of Carrie in another story. While this book can be read as a stand alone novel, I really suggest reading the first book in the series, to get the full effect of the story. While I didn't read the first book I plan on going back to read it just to understand how Carrie and her family got to the place that they were at the beginning of "What Happened To My Sister."

About the author:
Former print journalist Elizabeth Flock reported for TIME and PEOPLE magazines before becoming an on-air correspondent for CBS News.  Her acclaimed debut novel, BUT INSIDE I'M SCREAMING, chronicling the psychological struggles of a young woman in New York, was released in 2003.  Her second novel, ME & EMMA, became a New York Times bestseller and was a Booksense Notable Book of 2005.  EVERYTHING MUST GO, Elizabeth's third novel, based on a men's clothing store in Connecticut, was published in 2007. SLEEPWALKING IN DAYLIGHT, her fourth novel, came out in 2009, and was chosen as an Indie Next List (formerly Booksense) title.
WHAT HAPPENED TO MY SISTER, the much-anticipated follow-up to ME & EMMA, will be published by Random House in August, 2012. Elizabeth Flock lives in New York City.

1 comment:

Your wonderful comments make my day, thanks for dropping by!