Monday, December 26, 2011

Sisters of the Quilt ~ The Complete Trilogy by Cindy Woodsmall


Product Details

  • Paperback: 1008 pages
  • Publisher: WaterBrook Press; Reprint edition (November 2, 2010)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0307729958
  • ISBN-13: 978-0307729958

About the book:

Can Hannah find refuge, redemption, and a fresh beginning after her world is shattered? 
When the Heart Cries
Her life among her Amish community brutally interrupted, seventeen-year-old Hannah Lapp faces questions neither family, nor fiancé, nor even faith can easily answer. The first book in the Sisters of the Quilt series, When the Heart Cries will ignite a broader understanding of others’ beliefs and a God-given strength to deal with pain we all experience.
 When the Morning Comes
Rejected by those she loves, Hannah Lapp leaves her Amish community and seeks refuge in the world outside, leaving her family and friends to wrestle with the painful truths that emerge in the wake of her disappearance. As she struggles to find her place in the confusingEnglischer world, her community deals with the turbulent aftermath of her departure.
When the Soul Mends
Hoping to help her sister, Hannah Lapp reluctantly returns to the Old Order Amish community she fled in disgrace more than two years earlier. When hidden truths are revealed about her former fiancé, she must choose whether to return to the Plain life or to the Englischer man who adores her in this captivating conclusion to the Sisters of the Quilt series.
This three-in-one collection includes the entirety of the best-selling Sisters of the Quilt trilogy now at a new low price! 

My take on this book:

I had read two of the three books in this series so when I had the chance to review the complete trilogy I jumped at the chance,and actually reread the two books I had already read and found myself just as immersed in the characters the second time around.
The first book in the story is heartbreaking. A young Amish girl has her whole future ahead of her,but one moment in time
has her life changing forever, and the ones whom should have stood beside her question the truth of her story.

The trilogy follows Hannah Lapp as she leaves her community behind seeking refuge with an aunt who had left the community many years before. Things are different for Hannah in the Englisher world but we see her flourish and grow.During the final book "When the Soul Mends" she decides to go back home and help her sister, and to face the demons of the past she left behind. 
I loved this series. The emotion just flows off of the page. Hannah was a commendable character, one that didn't whine or cry but instead made the best of the things that had happened to her. Even though she was violated, and her heart broken by people who should have stood by her, she didn't let that dampen her spirit. There were several secondary characters that rounded out the story, but for me I was totally engrossed in Hannah's outcome, and was actually a bit torn over whom she should wind up with.

If you have never read an Amish story,then this trilogy is the perfect place to start. An inspirational story filled with many life lessons that kept me thinking about the characters long after I finished the final page.

rating 5/5

A complimentary copy of this book was provided by the publisher in exchange for an honest review.


  1. Thanks for sharing your thoughts on this amish story, I have read them and Hannah's story is a must read for folks that like to read about the amish.
    Happy New Year!
    Paula O

  2. Wow, you've sold me on this one. I am off to see if my library has copies of the first two books.

    I hope the New Year is filled with health and happiness for you and your family.


Your wonderful comments make my day, thanks for dropping by!