Sunday, October 2, 2011

Treasures From Grandma's Attic (Grandma's Attic Series Book 4) by Arleta Richardson ~ review

Product Details

  • Reading level: Ages 9-12
  • Paperback: 160 pages
  • Publisher: David C. Cook; Reprint edition (August 1, 2011)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0781403820
  • ISBN-13: 978-0781403825

*Complimentary copy of this book was provided for review*

Product Description:

Journey back to Grandma’s childhood on a Michigan farm in the 1800s for heartwarming stories that inspire faith and godly character.
Arleta Richardson’s beloved series, Grandma’s Attic, returns with Treasures from Grandma's Attic, the fourth in the refreshed classic collection for girls 8 to 12. This compilation of tales recounts humorous and poignant memories from Grandma Mabel’s childhood on a Michigan farm in the late 1800s. Combining the warmth and spirit of Little House on the Prairie with a Christian focus, this book transports readers back to a simpler time to learn lessons surprisingly relevant in today’s world.
Richardson’s wholesome stories have reached more than two million readers worldwide. Parents appreciate the godly values and character they promote. Children love the captivating storytelling that recounts childhood memories of mischief and joy. Ideal for home, school, or church libraries, or to give as a gift certain to be treasured.

My take on this book:
In this book Mabel and her best friend Sarah Jane are growing up, in the first story they are thirteen and they are dreading that cousin Agatha is coming for a Thanksgiving visit.When Mabel's family is snowed in she realizes that she actually likes cousin Agatha. The difference that I noticed in this book is the fact that it is more like Mabel is reminiscing about her past rather than telling the story to her grand -daughter. There is still plenty of trouble to be had by best friends Sarah Jane and Mabel even though they are growing up. I love the fact that there are positive christian lessons woven into each story, although the stories never come off as preachy. Another great thing about this series of books is the fact that each chapter is a stand alone story making it easy to pick up and put down. Perfect for bedtime reading. I loved this entire series and would easily recommend them to anyone young and old alike.

* A complimentary copy of this book was provided in exchange for an honest review*

No comments:

Post a Comment

Your wonderful comments make my day, thanks for dropping by!