Tuesday, December 11, 2012

A Kingsbury Collection ~ Three Novels in One

  • Paperback: 752 pages
  • Publisher: Multnomah Books (October 2, 2012)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1601424272
  • ISBN-13: 978-1601424273

This book is also available as an e-book.

October 2, 2012

Three Page-Turning Novels in One Volume! 

Where Yesterday Lives 

Ellen Barrett is a Pulitzer prize-winning journalist with an uncertain marriage, a forgotten faith, and haunting memories of her picturesque hometown and the love she left behind. The eldest of five siblings, she longs for the time, long ago, when they were a happy family. Now Ellen’s beloved father is dead, and she returns to her childhood home to make peace–with the people who still live there, with the losses and changes that time has wrought, and with the future God has set before her. 

When Joy Came to Stay 

Maggie Stovall is one of the golden people. She has it all together...at least on the surface. Ben Stovall is a godly husband and successful attorney. He has no idea of the darkness about to overtake his life. Amanda Joy is a child of society–abused, broken, thrown away. But her trust in God is still alive. When Joy Came to Stay is the heart-wrenching story of one woman’s descent into the shadows of depression, her husband’s search for understanding, and a precious child’s unwavering faith. 

On Every Side 

Faith Evans is an up-and-coming newscaster, a woman of honor and integrity who must take a stand against the one man she never imagined would be her enemy. A beloved, hundred-year-old statue of Jesus stands in a small-town park–but some say it’s a clear violation of separation of church and state that must come down. Jordan Riley is a powerful attorney fighting for human rights and against God, but still reckoning with bitter boyhood losses. Amid political intrigue, social injustice, and personal conflicts, will love be enough when the battle rages on every side? 

My take on this book:
As a fan of Karen Kingsbury I try to read everything she writes just because I know I am going to be encouraged and uplifted, and normally I always wind up shedding a few tears along the way as well, turns out that I had already read a couple of the stories in the collection, but I didn't mind revisiting them. 

"Where Yesterday Lives" is the story of  Ellen Barrett, a successful news reporter who has to take a journey back home when her father has a heart attack and dies. While she doesn't look forward to going home perhaps the trip will finally bring her family closer together. 

"When Joy Came To Stay" had to be one of my favorite in the collection. It is the story of Maggie Stovall, who spirals into depression, something that her husband Ben is having problems dealing with. This was such an interesting story because it gives a glimpse of the effects of depression on a family.

"On Every Side" is the story of a Faith Evans who decides to stand up when the town threatens to take down a hundred year old statue of Jesus. 

While these three novels aren't my favorite Karen Kingsbury stories, I did enjoy them. The elements of faith that I have come to expect were found in each story, along with a bit of romance. Overall, this collection is just what I expected it to be. If you have never read a Kingsbury novel, you just might want to pick up this collection.

A complimentary copy of this book was provided in exchange for an honest review. 

No comments:

Post a Comment

Your wonderful comments make my day, thanks for dropping by!